Jump to other news and events
Purdue signature

Samuel D. Conte Distinguished Lecture Series

Throughout the 2012-2013 Academic Year, Purdue Computer Science hosted a special edition of its annual Samuel D. Conte Distinguished Lecture Series. These lectures focused on significant milestones in computer science history.

All lectures were held at 3:30 p.m. in the Lawson Computer Science Building (Room 1142) and followed by a reception in the Lawson Commons. Lectures and receptions were free and open to the public.

Lectures scheduled for 2012-2013 academic year included:

Friday, August 31, 2012: Dr. C. Mohan, IBM Research - Almaden

"Implications of Storage Class Memories on Software and Hardware Architectures"

Friday, September 21, 2012: Prof. John Hopcroft, Cornell University

"New Directions in Computer Science"

Thursday, November 1, 2012: Dr. Iain Duff, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory & CERFACS

"Solving Large Sparse Linear Systems: The Exascale Challenge"

Wednesday, November 28, 2012: Prof. Tom Mitchell, Carnegie Mellon University

"Never Ending Learning"

Thursday, March 21, 2013: Prof. Barbara Liskov, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

"The Power of Abstraction"


About the Samuel D. Conte Distinguished Lecture Series

Samuel D. Conte (1917 2002) founded the Department of Computer Science at Purdue University in 1962. His vision and active involvement nationally and internationally played a vital role in defining the discipline of computer science worldwide.

In 1993, the Samuel D. Conte Endowment was established to honor Dr. Conte and his devotion to excellence in teaching and research in computer science. The Samuel D. Conte Lecture Series, sponsored by the endowment, serves as a permanent testimonial of his contributions to the Department of Computer Science, to Purdue University, and to the computing field.

1994: Carl de Boor, University of Wisconsin
1995: Marshall T. Rose, First Virtual Holdings
1996: Nancy G. Leveson, University of Washington
1997: Ken Kennedy, Rice University
2000: James Foley, Georgia Institute of Technology
2000: Jim Kurose, University of Massachusetts Amherst
2000: Nancy Lynch, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2000: Jay Lepreau, University of Utah
2000: Pravin Varaiya, University of California, Berkeley
2001: Gene Golub, Stanford University
2001: George Cybenko, Dartmouth University
2002: Alan Frieze, Carnegie Mellon University
2002: C. W. Gear, NEC Research Institute
2002: Peter Neumann, SRI International
2003: Barbara Ryder, Rutgers University
2003: Burton Smith, Cray Research
2003: Pat Hanrahan, Stanford University
2003: Rakesh Agrawal, IBM Research - Almaden
2004: Raj Jain, Nayna Networks
2004: John Mitchell, Stanford University
2004: Thomas Hughes, University of Texas at Austin
2004: Ingrid Carlbom, Bell Laboratories
2005: Pamela Samuelson, University of California, Berkeley
2005: Greg Morrisett, Harvard University
2005: Ronald Rivest, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2006: David Patterson, University of California, Berkeley
2006: James Demmel, University of California, Berkeley
2006: Jennifer Rexford, Princeton University
2006: Arnold Rosenberg, University of Massachusetts Amherst
2006: Jack Dongarra, University of Tennesseee
2007: Andries van Dam, Brown University
2007: Frances Allen, IBM T. J. Watson Research Laboratory
2007: Christos Faloutsos, Carnegie Mellon University
2007: Robert Sedgewick, Princeton University
2008: Joan Feigenbaum, Yale University
2008: Danny Sorensen, Rice University
2008: Leslie Pack Kaelbling, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2008: Prabhakar Raghavan, Yahoo! Research
2009: Laura Haas, IBM Research - Almaden
2009: Alon Halevy, Google
2009: Tayfun Tezduyar, Rice University
2009: Manuela Veloso, Carnegie Mellon University
2009: Shafi Goldwasser, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2010: Alex Aiken, Stanford University
2010: Robin Murphy, Texas A&M University
2010: David Garlan, Carnegie Mellon University
2010: Fred Schneider, Cornell University
2011: Bruce Croft, University of Massachusetts Amherst
2011: Thomas Ball, Microsoft
2011: David Laidlaw, Brown University